top of page

Our Leadership & Governance

The Diocese of Western North Carolina is governed by the Constitution and Canons of The Episcopal Church and the Constitution and Canons of the Diocese. Authority of the Church in this diocese is vested in the bishop, the annual Convention of elected delegates and clergy, an elected executive council, an elected standing committee, and other canonically required committees.

The business of the Diocese is conducted at an annual convention held in November. All canonically resident clergy are required to attend and each parish elects two delegates who attend. Both lay and ordained participate in deliberations and vote on a variety of resolutions, including the budget.

Finally, the Diocese is divided into six geographical regions designated as deaneries. One clergy leader is elected as Dean of each deanery and meets monthly with the Bishop to discuss and address diocesan affairs and local concerns.

bottom of page