The Executive Council of the Diocese

The Executive Council implements the work of the Diocese between Conventions. The Executive Council includes: Bishop José (chair); 18 elected members serving 3 year terms (1 clergy and 2 lay persons from every Deanery); the Dean of the Cathedral of All Souls (ex-officio); the Chancellor of the Diocese; and the Treasurer of the Diocese. Up to six meetings are held annually, plus an overnight retreat in January. Elected members having served a full term shall be ineligible for reelection for a period of two years. Likewise, Deans of Deaneries are ineligible.


President of the Executive Council – José A. McLoughlin, Bishop 

Vice President of the Executive Council – Mr. Don Corry


Elected Members, 2016 – 2018

  • Mr. Michael Davis, Good Shepherd, Tryon

  • Ms. Nancy Davis, St. Luke’s, Asheville

  • Ms. Lynne Getz, St. Mary’s of the Hills, Blowing Rock

  • Ms. Brittany Deal, Grace, Morganton

  • The Rev. David Henson, Trinity, Asheville 

  • The Rev. Toby Summerour, Good Shepherd, Cashiers


Elected Members, 2017 – 2019

  • Leslie Anderson, St. John’s, Asheville

  • Lee Berger, All Saints, Franklin

  • Don Corry, St. Francis, Rutherfordton

  • Pam Hemphill, St. Mary’s & St. Stephen’s, Morganton

  • The Rev. Dn. Cynthia Nash, Trinity, Spruce Pine


Elected Members, 2018 – 2020

  • Mr. Jim Bowden, St. Peter by the Lake, Denver

  • The Rev. Susan Buchanan, St. James, Lenoir

  • The Rev. Wes Shields, Transfiguration, Bat Cave

  • Ms. Marti Smith, St. John’s, Flat Rock

  • Mr. Scott Walters, Trinity, Spruce Pine

  • Mr. Jim Reynolds, Good Shepherd, Hayesville


Monday through Thursday: 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Supported browsers: Google Chrome | Safari for Mac (version 10 and above) | Windows 10 Microsoft Edge | Firefox

© 2018 by Episcopal Diocese of Western North Carolina