The Standing Committee of the Diocese

The Standing Committee of the Diocese of Western North Carolina serves as a council of advice for the Bishop and is the Ecclesiastical Authority of the Diocese in the absence of a Bishop.


The Standing Committee gives consent for persons to become candidates for Holy Orders, consent for ordinations and consent for elections of bishops in other diocese. Likewise, the Standing Committee also provides consent to the sale or encumbrance of property of the Diocese of Western North Carolina.


Elected by Convention, the Standing Committee is comprised of four clergy and four lay members, each serving a four year term. Any member having served a full term shall be ineligible for reelection for a period of four years.

The Rev. Patty Mouer - St. Luke's, Asheville - Class of 2021

Mr. George Sweet - Transfiguration, Saluda - Class of 2021

Ms. Lynne Getz - St. Luke's, Boone - Classof 2022

The Rev. Joslyn Schaefer - Grace, Waynesville - Class of 2022

The Rev. Marshall Jolly - Grace, Morganton - Class of 2023

Ms. Christine Longoria - St. Mary's, Asheville - Class of 2023

The Rev. Jonathan Stepp - All Saints, Franklin - Class of 2024

Mr. William Hasskamp - St. James, Black Mountain - Class of 2024

Standing Committee Members

Website Logo and Name Gray.jpg